Alec Soth's Archived Blog

March 14, 2007

Celebraphy

Filed under: media — alecsothblog @ 7:05 am

sammy

I’ll be traveling for the next week and the blog might be a bit quiet. But since I’m going to Los Angeles, I though I might do a celebrity photographer update.

  1. Mikhail Baryshnikov is showing his project Dominican Moves at the Edwynn Houk Gallery through March 31st.
  2. “I have asked Jessica [Lange] if taking pictures is a kind of release for her,” writes Mary Ellen Mark in the current issue of Aperture, “She says: ‘Absolutely. It’s a way of being able to work completely alone without having to depend on anyone else. Because acting is collaborative, you have to depend on so many others.’”
  3. In last month’s Vanity Fair there is an article promoting the new book, Photo by Sammy Davis Jr. Here is one passage: When Sammy started taking pictures, as a teenage performer in the 40s, he used a Brownie and whatever inexpensive camera came his way. “We were in Florida and I was at the Beachcomber. [Singer] Steve Lawrence was down there. He was in the army, doing a show, and he came to the dressing room, and then we went to my hotel and hung out. He said, ‘Oh, you’ve got a Polaroid, the new Polaroid. I just got some stock in that. You ought to buy some, too.’ “I said, ‘Stock? What stock?’ He said, ‘I bought it for two dollars a share.’ ‘Two dollars? For a piece of paper?…I got a Polaroid so I can take pictures of chicks’ boobs.’”

Blog at WordPress.com.

